### ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

### 25 May 2021

**Present** – The Chairman (Councillor Harbron) and Councillors Brockbank, Brown, Foster, Handley, Heseltine, Hull, Ireton, Jaquin, Lis, Metcalfe, Moorby, Morrell, Mulligan, Myers, Place, Pighills, Pringle, Shuttleworth, Solloway, Staveley, Sutcliffe and Whitaker.

**Officers** – Chief Executive, Director of Services, Chief Finance Officer (s151 Officer), Strategic Manager for Planning and Regeneration, Solicitor to the Council and Monitoring Officer, Democratic Services Manager and Senior Democratic Services Officer.

Start: 2.00pm Finish: 2.30pm

**Apologies for Absence** – Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Barrett, Madeley, Mercer, Noland, Ogden, Rose and Wheeler.

Minutes -

**Resolved** – That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 27 April 2021 were confirmed as a correct record.

**Public Participation –** There were no members of the public in attendance.

**Declarations of Interest –** There were no declarations of interest.

# CL.1222 OUTGOING CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

The Chairman stated that it had been a privilege to represent the district and thanked members and officers for their support over the past 12 months.

## CL.1223 THANKS TO OUTGOING CHAIRMAN

The Leader of the Council thanked Councillor Harbron on behalf of the Council.

### CL.1224 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

**Resolved** – That Councillor Sutcliffe is elected Chairman of the Council for the 2021-2022 municipal year.

# CL.1225 <u>DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE BY THE NEW</u> CHAIRMAN

The new Chairman, Councillor Sutcliffe read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

(Councillor Sutcliffe in the Chair)

### CL.1226 ANNOUNCEMENT OF CHAIRMAN'S CONSORT

Marcia Firth was confirmed as the Chairman's Consort for the 2021/22 municipal year.

# CL.1227 CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

The Chairman stated that he was honoured to have been elected and was very much looking forward to his year in office.

# CL.1228 <u>ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2021/22 MUNICIPAL</u> YEAR

**Resolved** – That Councillor Myers is elected Deputy Chairman for the 2021/2022 municipal year.

# CL.1229 <u>DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE BY NEW</u> VICE-CHAIRMAN

The new Vice-Chairman, Councillor Myers, read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

CL.1230 APPOINTMENTS

The following appointments were confirmed:

a) Allocation of Committee Places for Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels 2021/22

**Resolved** – That the appointments contained in the report are confirmed, subject to Peter Charlesworth and Robert Stead no longer serving on Standards Committee and Councillor Harbron to be added as a Member of Planning Committee.

b) Appointment of Office Holders, Lead Members and Member Champions 2021-22

**Resolved** – That the appointments contained in the report are confirmed, subject to Councillor Myers to be added as Lead Member for Planning.

c) Appointments to Outside Bodies

**Resolved** – That the appointments contained in the report are confirmed, subject to a further three-year term of office for members of Yorkshire Housing Group, Chair of Select Committee to be added as a member of Craven Barnfield Regeneration Board and Councillor Moorby to replace Councillor Myers as a member of Parking and Traffic Regulation Outside London Joint Committee.

# CL.1231 APPOINTMENT OF PARISH REPRESENTATIVE TO STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Solicitor to the Council and Monitoring Officer submitted a report which sought to appoint a Parish Representative to Standards Committee.

**Resolved** – That Marion Swales (Bentham Town Councillor) is appointed as a non-voting member of Standards Committee until the Annual Meeting of Council 2023.

#### CL.1232

### **COUNCIL DECISION MAKING**

The Chief Executive submitted a report which provided an update on the latest position in relation to Council Decision Making in light of the decision by the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government not to extend the regulations that enabled virtual meetings to take place on or after 7 May 2021.

**Resolved** – That a working group comprising Lead Members and Chairs of Committees is setup to consider future meeting arrangements.

#### CL.1233

#### **ANY OTHER ITEMS**

- a) Local Election Results Members welcomed two members onto the Council following the recent Local Elections on Thursday, 6 May 2021. Councillor David Pighills representing Barden Fell and Councillor Robert Ogden representing Penyghent. Councillor David Staveley had also been elected County Councillor for Ribblesdale.
- b) Appointment of Chief Finance Officer (s151 Officer) Members were asked to consider and approve the appointment of a Chief Finance Officer following the recent resignation of Richard Weigh.

The following recommendation was submitted by the Recruitment and Appeals Panel following its meeting on 25 May 2021:

a) That Graham Soulsby is appointed as the Council's Chief Finance Officer (s151 Officer) from 6 September 2021 for a period of 12 months, at which time the appointment will be reviewed.

**Resolved** – That the recommendation of the Recruitment and Appeals Panel meeting held on 25 May 2021 is confirmed.

### CL.1234 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

Tuesday, 3 August 2021 at 6.30pm.

Chairman