ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

5 August 2020

Present – The Chair (Councillor Whitaker) and Councillors Barrett, Brockbank, Brown, Foster, Handley, Harbron, Heseltine, Hull, Ireton, Jaquin, Lis, Madeley, Metcalfe, Moorby, Morrell, Mulligan, Myers, Noland, Place, Pringle, Rose, Shuttleworth, Solloway, Staveley, Sutcliffe, Welch and Wheeler.

Officers – Chief Executive, Director of Services, Chief Finance Officer (s151 Officer), Strategic Manager for Planning and Regeneration, Solicitor to the Council and Monitoring Officer and Democratic Services Manager.

Start: 6.35pm

Finish: 7.10pm

Apologies for Absence – Apologies for absence were submitted by Councillors Mercer and Pighills.

Declarations of Interest – There were no declarations of interest.

CL.1164 OUTGOING CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

The Chairman stated that it had been a privilege to represent the district and thanked members and officers for their support over the past 12 months.

CL.1165 THANKS TO OUTGOING CHAIRMAN

The Leader of the Council thanked Councillor Whitaker on behalf of the Council.

CL.1166 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

Resolved – That Councillor Harbron be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2020-2021 municipal year.

CL.1167 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE BY THE NEW CHAIRMAN

The new Chairman, Councillor Harbron read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

(Councillor Harbron in the Chair)

CL.1168 ANNOUNCEMENT OF CHAIRMAN'S CONSORT

Annabel Heseltine was confirmed as the Chairman's Consort for the 2020/21 municipal year.

CL.1169 CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

The Chairman stated that he was honoured to have been elected and was very much looking forward to his year in office. His chosen charity for the 2020/21 municipal year was Take Heart, the charity of the Yorkshire Heart Centre.

CL.1170 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2020/21 MUNICIPAL YEAR

Resolved – That Councillor Sutcliffe is elected Deputy Chairman for the 2020/2021 municipal year.

CL.1171 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE BY NEW VICE-CHAIRMAN

The new Vice-Chairman, Councillor Sutcliffe, read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

CL.1172 RECOMMENDATIONS OF SELECTION COMMITTEE

Recommendations of Selection Committee held on 30 July 2020 were submitted:

(For each minute, the motion was proposed and seconded "That the recommendations in the Minute are confirmed".)

a) Minute SEL.102 – Allocation of Committee Places for Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels 2020/21

Resolved – That the recommendations at Minute SEL.102 are confirmed.

b) Minute SEL.103 – Appointment of Office Holders, Lead Members and Member Champions 2020-21

Resolved – That the recommendations at Minute SEL.103 are confirmed.

c) Minute SEL.104 – Appointments to Outside Bodies

Resolved – That the recommendations at Minute SEL.104 are confirmed.

Chairman