Craven District Council

Skip Navigation

Craven District Council

Elections in Craven on May 3 – but not in all wards!

Residents are being reminded that elections take place in a number of Craven wards on Thursday, May 3 – but not in Skipton.

Elections will take place in nine Craven District Council wards - Aire Valley with Lothersdale, Bentham, Gargrave and Malhamdale, Glusburn, Hellifield and Long Preston, Ingleton and Clapham, Penyghent, Settle and Ribblebanks and Sutton-in-Craven - and two parishes – Ingleton and Lothersdale.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm in these wards on Thursday May 3.

Craven District Council Chief Executive, Paul Shevlin, said: “We would encourage all residents in these areas to come out and vote – this is your chance to have your say.

“However we would like to remind residents that not every ward is holding an election this year. District Council Elections take place in three out of four years and a third of the councillors are elected each time.

“So there are no elections in any of the Skipton wards this year, or a number of other areas – please check whether there is an election in your area before setting off for your polling station!”

For more information on the 2018 elections in Craven go to