Craven District Council

Skip Navigation

Craven District Council

Environmental Impact Assessment (subject to screening opinion)

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) is needed for certain types of development.

These are usually but not always major developments. Information can be found in The Town and Country Planning (Environmental Impact Assessment) Regulations 2017 (Schedules 1 and 2 type development)

The EIA regulations define two different types of developments, set out in two Schedules to the regulations. For Schedule 1 projects an EIA must always be carried out. For Schedule 2 projects an EIA must be carried out if the development is likely to have a significant impact on the environment by virtue of its nature, size or location.

For more information on Environmental Impact Assessments see:

Craven District Council - Environmental Impact Assessments

GOV.UK - Guidance on Environmental Impact Assessment

GOV.UK - Environmental Impact Assessment Screening Checklist