Craven District Council

Skip Navigation

Craven District Council

About the Planning Committee

About the Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is comprised of 12 Councillors. It deals with all development control and associated issues, including tree matters and enforcement connected to the development of that part of the Craven District outside the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Further detail on the terms of reference can be found by clicking the link here. Most issues relating to Building Control are delegated to officers to deal with.

The Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority is responsible for planning policy and development control within the Park area, which covers around two-thirds of the land area of Craven.

Committee papers are made available five working days before each meeting. Meetings take place every four weeks.

If you have any questions or are experiencing difficulty downloading papers from this page, please contact the Democratic Services Team by e-mailing or by telephone on 01756 706486 .

More information regarding planning services or to view details of an application on line can be found on the planning services pages within this website.

[Note:  If you require any committee documents before May 2010, please email us.]

Committee memberships

  • Councillor Sutcliffe (Chairman)
  • Councillor Brockbank (Vice Chair)
  • Councillor Brown
  • Councillor Harbron
  • Councillor Heseltine
  • Councillor Lis
  • Councillor Morrell
  • Councillor Place
  • Councillor Rose
  • Councillor Shuttleworth
  • Councillor Welch
  • Councillor Whitaker

Committee Substitutes

  • Councillor Barrett
  • Councillor Handley
  • Councillor Hull
  • Councillor Noland
  • Councillor Madeley
  • Councillor Solloway