Craven District Council

Skip Navigation

Craven District Council

About the Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is responsible for making decisions on planning applications, planning enforcement and other operational planning and building control matters.

The Planning Committee is comprised of 12 Councillors and meets every month.  Its role is to consider significant planning applications for development and deal with all development control issues, including tree and enforcement matters. 

The Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority is responsible for planning policy and development control within its area, which covers around two-thirds of the land area of Craven.

Audio Recording of Committee Meetings

We make a recording of each Planning Committee meeting and store them on Soundcloud, an audio streaming website. You can listen to recordings by visiting the Soundcloud website. Visit the Soundcloud website here

Public Participation at Planning Committee meetings

The procedure for public speakers at Planning Committee meetings can be downloaded here 

If you require any Council / Committee information prior to the 2017-18 municipal year then please contact the Democratic Services Team by e-mailing or by telephone (01756) 706486.

Committee Membership

  • Councillor Sutcliffe (Chairman)
  • Councillor Brockbank (Vice Chair)
  • Councillor Brown
  • Councillor Harbron
  • Councillor Heseltine
  • Councillor Lis
  • Councillor Morrell
  • Councillor Place
  • Councillor Pringle
  • Councillor Rose
  • Councillor Shuttleworth
  • Councillor Welch

Substitute Members

  • Councillor Barrett
  • Councillor Handley
  • Councillor Hull
  • Councillor Noland
  • Councillor Madeley
  • Councillor Solloway